David L

David L

Hi. I am a very active and fit 63 year old married man living in Ottawa, Ontario with PKD and a current eGFR of 17%. I also have M.S. but that is very much under control.

My wife and I have both completed 35 year careers in computer systems and are now active in new ventures. Irene in the quilting business and I'm a galleried artist creating oil on canvas landscapes, cityscapes, and more. Some of my work can be seen at if wanting a peek. I am also very active in cycling, running, rowing, and more. In addition to painting, I also play piano and guitar and am looking to start another venture in the online, e-commerce space. My advocacy activities include the Jinarc trial (a 7-yr trial in Montreal), providing transplant education to people at every chance, participating in fundraisers, (Irene auctioning quilts and my auctioning paintings), PKD chapter involvement, and more. PKD and M.S. have greatly impacted my life and were the reason we didn't have children - a tough decision as I always wanted to be a Dad but couldn't risk passing on PKD. Irene and I missed out on a lot of things due to this disease and we hope now for a pre-emptive transplant from a wonderful kidney donor so we can continue to pursue our goals and ambitions, be good advocates, and
enjoy some travel to see a little more of this great big beautiful world!

If you can help please call ME or Ottawa's Living Kidney Donor Program at 613 738-8400 X 82719 - and please mention my name!

Ottawa, ON

Age: 63

Blood Type: A+

Currently in active transplant status looking for a donor.

Reason for kidney failure: Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD) inherited from my Mother

Current kidney function: eGFR at 17%, both kidneys the size of footballs!